News

I Hate a Hiatus

The Chronicles of Creepy Pants will be taking a short break. This might seem like a redundant post to the  ew devoted followers who check this blog regularly enough to know that it has already been a month since the last post (and it was a month between the post before last). A little dire for a blog that  once delivered a new episode on a weekly (sometimes bi-weekly) basis.

Perhaps I should start this post again.

The Chronicles of Creepy Pants has been on a short break. However, it has been for a reason. It’s not often that I break my narratory voice and speak to you directly, so you know this must be important.

This blog had humble beginnings. In fact, it wasn’t even a blog. It started as a regular email I would send to my cugina and one of my best friends who lived on the other side of the country. The emails were enjoyed and forwarded to friends. Fueled by my boredom at work, and my desire to entertain the Sydney elite, my emails became more literary and my stories more exaggerated.

Soon, work colleagues found out about the emails [because I told them]. It was hard to contain. Friends of friends wanted in on it. Instead of creating an enormous email chain list, I thought it would be easier to create a blog. The new seemed to legitimise my story telling and I became obsessed. Inspiration came from everywhere. Stories became more fanciful. I became one of “those people who would go to dinner parties and tell people about “my blog”. People began telling me about the Creeps in their lives.  Creep Pants began to transform from the most primordial of office geekery to the mysterious Boogie Man for every working soul.

Ever a champion of the under dog, I began to feel sorry for Creepy Pants. An unwitting victim of bad press. A scapegoat for our own prejudices. We all claim to know a Creepy Pants, but it could be that we all have a Creepy Pants inside of us?

The point is, my exaggerated tales have delightfully turned into an all-inclusive mythology; a story telling experience that I am humbled to discover that a small (although larger than I ever imagined) group of people have been able to relate. As such, I have decided to try to take this blog to the next level.

There will be some minor, decorative changes: a new blog layout, colour scheme and design. I will also reboot the series. That is to say, I will be relaunching the blog from Episode 1, with a few re-writes and some home-made illustrations (savvy internet browsers will have already picked up on this trend).

Finally, inspired by my small obsession with the deliciously democratic short web series, The Random Adventures of Brandon Generator, I will try to bring the story telling to you. I want to hear your inspiration. I want to see where you would like Creepy Pants to go. I want to put your stories and your voice into the blog.

Sneaky tactics from a lazy blogger with writer’s block? Perhaps.

However, I can honestly say that I have started mapping out a conclusion to this story in my head. I think I know where I want it to go and I can see the winding path of story telling getting ever closer to its end. This is part of the reason for the reboot. If I continue on as I am going, I will likely only have a couple of more episode to go before the inevitable conclusion. And I have decided that I am just not ready to let go of The Creep just yet!

Hopefully, you feel the same way too.

In the meantime, if you want to contact me with your own creepy stories, or if you just want to say hi, you can find me at the Facebook page or you can email at creepy.pants01@gmail.com.

And as always (although far more explicitly in this rarest of occasions that I actually write in my own voice) – if you like this blog – TELL YOUR FRIENDS!

x

 

One thought on “I Hate a Hiatus

  1. Pingback: So Who’s Been Writing On My Blog? | The Write Stuff

Don't be a Creep - Leave a Comment

