Archives

Episode 5: Semaphore

Source: http://kalaalog.com (edited)

At 3.45 pm, Quentin had innocently decided to head to the staffroom kitchen to refill his cup of coffee. Little did he know that in 29 minutes he would still be in the kitchen, immersed in a one-sided conversation about the Art of Picking Up Chicks .

The conversation started with an uncomfortable level of intimacy.

“So, did you pick up any chicks on the weekend?”

Quentin let him down gently.

“Nah dude, I have a girl friend.”

However, Quentin quickly realised that he hadn’t actually been asked a question. Rather, he was opened up to a conversation about some rather peculiar exploits. Quentin felt trapped. And slightly used.

But the longer that Quentin was cornered into the conversation, the more Quentin felt genuinely engaged with what he was hearing. Quentin was fascinated and couldn’t help, but ask question after question in order to learn the tips on this supposed “Game”.

“So what was your opening line?”

“I asked her if she had seen the two girls fighting outside.”

“There were two girls fighting outside?!”

“No. I was just creating mystery by asking a strange question. The girl asked me to give her more information, so it worked.”

“Really?”

Quentin had a big, goofy grin on his face. He hadn’t had this much fun at work in ages.

“Totally. I told her there were two girls fighting over this guy half their size and the guy just stood there and laughed at them as the police came and arrested the girls. She thought my story was hilarious.”

“But that didn’t happen did it?”

“No, it was just to create mystery to get her interested.”

“Of course.”

He proceed to tell Quentin the laws of the pick up artistry. The rules of The Game. Quentin couldn’t believe he was being serious.

“After about half an hour or so of, you know, chatting and buying her drinks, I made an excuse that I had an emergency and needed to leave.”

“Wha… why?”

“I flagged her.”

“Huh?”

“I flagged her.  If I stayed there was a risk that she would lose interest, so I created a story to make me sound mysterious.  After I told her I had to leave, I suggested she give me her number so that I could call her.”

“And it worked?”

“Of course. She was really confused about why I needed to go, so I gave her a reason to let me contact her. I flagged her for a future date.”

Quentin chuckled to himself as he walked back to his office. Was this guy for real?  Games. Flagging. It was all too much. Quentin had already wasted a lot of time out of his working day, but he couldn’t get this off his mind.  When he reached his desk, he decided to investigate with some light googling. The results were astounding. Perfect even. Quentin had to share his discovery.


From:
Quentin

Subject: Flagging

Importance: High

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Hey man, so I was doing a bit of research on flagging. Is this what you were talking about mate?!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Handkerchief_code

Subject: Re: Flagging

Importance: High

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Ha ha ha….. no that is not quite it.  However that is very similar to another technique we use called Peacocking

Subject: Re: Re: Flagging

Importance: High

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Peacocking??

Subject: Re: Re: Re: Flagging

Importance: High

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Yeh, of course its about making you stand out with something

Subject: Re: Re: Re: Re: Flagging

Importance: High

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

An object?

Subject: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Flagging

Importance: High

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sure. So I will wear a crazy hat or a giant flower on my collar or big colourful pants. Then a bird will come up to me and ask me about my crazy clothes.

Bang – I got the chicks attention!! Dont even need to make moves on her.

Till later…. he he he

Subject: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Flagging

Importance: High

____________________________________________________________________________________________________ Oh cool…

"What colourful hankerchiefs you have!"

Yikes.

Quentin had had enough fun for one day and decided to get back to work.

This is the Chronicles of Creepy Pants.

Stay tuned for Episode 6: Remember Me

3 thoughts on “Episode 5: Semaphore

  1. Hilarious, this is exactly what I would do if I worked with Creepy Pants. A few weeks back I drunkenly struck up a convo with my crazy neighbor and we talked about cat dentists and how dentists should also be barbers while they have you up in that chair and on and on.

Don't be a Creep - Leave a Comment

